What Happens When I Close My Account?

Once your account is closed, it is no longer accessible by you or anyone else; you won't be able to access your order history or print a proof of purchase or an invoice. This also affects related customer accounts, features, and services that are linked to your email address and password across any Amazon sites globally.

If you have uploaded your own content in one of our services (e.g. Amazon Photos) you may want to download that content before closing your account.

Closing your account permanently means you won't have access to the products and services associated with your closed account, including:

  • Your customer profile including your reviews, discussion posts, returns and refunds for orders.
  • Your Amazon Web Services (AWS) account and the resources in your account.
  • Your Amazon Selling Partner account associated with your Amazon account, and the data associated with that account and Seller Central.
  • Your Amazon Associates Programs account.
  • Amazon Pay . This includes:
    • Viewing past orders and filing Amazon Pay A-to-Z Guarantee claims.
    • Purchases using Amazon Pay that have not yet been billed and closed prior to closing your Amazon account may still be charged based on the merchant’s shipment timing.
    • Any subscriptions where Amazon Pay is the payment method will have to be updated with a new payment method. It is your obligation to provide the subscription provider with a new payment method for billing.
  • Your available Amazon.com Gift Cards balance will no longer be available for you to spend.
    • You can check your balance on the Gift Cards Balance and Ledger page. You will not be able to redeem any additional Amazon.com Gift Cards.
    • Any Gift Cards you have sent to other customers can still be redeemed on their accounts.
    • Any third-party gift cards purchased from Amazon will still be valid at those third-party websites.
    • If you have purchased gift cards on behalf of a Corporate incentive program, you must unenroll from that Corporate Gift Card program with the Corporate account manager.
  • Your Digital Content and Services:
    • Your Prime Video account including watchlist, recommendations, subscriptions, and videos (including videos you purchased).
    • Your Amazon Music purchases, playlists and content.
    • Your Amazon Photos (previously Amazon Drive) account and all account content.
    • Your Audible profile and membership(s), credits, and access to your Audible content (audiobooks, podcasts, etc.).
    • Your Kindle content and subscriptions, and any notes or annotations created through your account.
  • Your Kindle Direct Publishing account.
  • Author Central and related author's pages.
  • Your Amazon Appstore purchases and available coins.
  • Your Amazon device(s), such as Echo, Tablets, E-Readers, Fire TV etc., will no longer be registered to your Amazon account, and you will no longer have access to Amazon services on your device(s) unless you register the device to another active account.
    • Information stored in Amazon applications on Fire tablets, such as saved contacts or calendar events, bookmarks in the Maps app, and any device backups.
    • You can download your contacts or calendar events using in-app download functionalities.
  • Alexa, the Alexa app and services available through Alexa (e.g. skills, alarms, lists, etc.) on your Alexa-enabled devices. Your voice recordings along with other Alexa content and data.
  • Your Amazon Flex account.

Note: Please be advised that Amazon is legally required to retain some types of data, such as order history. We do this in line with applicable laws including for tax and accounting and fraud prevention purposes.

For more information on how to request the closure of your account, visit Request the Closure of Your Account and the Deletion of Your Personal Information.

Was this information helpful?

Thank you for your feedback.

Please select what best describes the information:

Thanks! While we're unable to respond directly to your feedback, we'll use this information to improve our online Help.