Tax on Amazon Prime

Amazon Prime includes multiple benefits such as free two day shipping, free unlimited photo storage, plus exclusive access to movies, music and Kindle books. To determine the taxability of Prime, taxing authorities were requested by Amazon to provide guidance. As a result, Amazon Prime is subject to tax in the following states:

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • District of Columbia
  • Florida (Communications Services Tax only)
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Iowa
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Nebraska
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Pennsylvania
  • Puerto Rico
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

When signing up for Amazon Prime you are agreeing to the Amazon Prime Terms & Conditions. Your subscription will continue until cancelled. If you choose to continue, you'll automatically be charged for Amazon Prime plus any applicable taxes. You may cancel any time by visiting Manage Your Prime Membership in Your Account.

Was this information helpful?

Thank you for your feedback.

Please select what best describes the information:

Thanks! While we're unable to respond directly to your feedback, we'll use this information to improve our online Help.